KU News Release

March 16, 2011
Contact: Maj. Aaron Cornett, Army ROTC, 785-864-1111

Army ROTC cadets compete for German Armed Forces badge

More Information

LAWRENCE — Cadets from the Army Reserve Officers’ Training Corps unit at the University of Kansas recently competed for the German Armed Forces Badge for Military Proficiency.

Twelve KU cadets competed March 4-5 with cadets from Pittsburg State University, Kansas State University, Missouri Western State College, Central Missouri State University and the University of Northern Illinois. The competition was held at Pittsburg State.

To earn the badge, cadets had to complete events to specified standards based on age and gender. Cadets had to run 100 meters, 1000 meters and 3000 meters; swim 200 meters; complete a shot-put throw and long jump; shoot a 9 mm pistol; and complete a 12-kilometer road march in full combat uniform.

A total of 68 cadets began the competition. Only 38 completed every event within the standards, eight of them representing KU. German Army Sgt. Maj. Matthias Lueck was on-hand to oversee the competition and bestow each the proficiency badges.

KU is one of only 50 universities in the nation offering an ROTC program that represents all branches of the military. Students in KU’s ROTC programs are not only from KU but also from Baker University, Haskell Indian Nations University in Lawrence, the University of St. Mary in Leavenworth, Washburn University in Topeka, Mid-America Nazarene University in Olathe and Kansas City Kansas Community College.

Of the 12 cadets representing KU in the competition, one, Adam Smith, is a student at Washburn. The 11 from KU are listed below by hometown, level in school, major, parents’ names and degree earned or high school.

From Andover 67002
Tyler Richard Beck, junior in economics; Meg Beck and Daniel Beck; Andover High School.

From Eudora 66025
Paul Preston Bender, junior in geography; Jack Bender; Lawrence High School.

From Lawrence 66049 and Seminole, Fla.
Austin John Simons, freshman in history; Robert Simons and Deena Shipley; Lawrence Free State High School.

From Newton 67114
Stuart Mark McConnell, freshman in film and media studies; Michael and Carla McConnell; Newton High School.

From Lansing 66043
Evan Matthew Cain, junior in film and media studies; John and Judith Cain; Lansing High School.

From Leavenworth 66048
Blake Steven Horvath, junior in history; Jan and Sherry Horvath; Leavenworth Senior High School.

From Leawood 66209
Dan Joseph Stork, freshman preparing to major in sport sciences and community health; Kris and Keith Stork; Blue Valley North High School.

From Overland Park 66215
Jonathan Clarke Kincaid, master’s student in education; Marti Shuey; bachelor’s degree from KU; Olathe North High School.

From Wichita 67205
Collin John Case, freshman preparing to major in education; Rick Case; Maize High School.

From Rossville 66533
Courtney Dawn Brungardt, sophomore in geography and history; Kristy Rubio; Rossville High School.

From Seminole 33776 and Lawrence, Kan.
Austin John Simons. SEE DOUGLAS COUNTY

From St. Clair 63077
Andrew Stephen Haanpaa, sophomore in anthropology; Susan Hedrick; Saint Clair R-XIII High School.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).