KU News Release

March 29, 2011
Contact: Jennifer Jackson Sanner, KU Alumni Association, 785-864-4760

KU to honor 38 high school seniors from four south-central Kansas counties

More Information

LAWRENCE — Students from nine Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, April 13, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 38 seniors from high schools in Barber, Harper, Kingman and Pratt counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at Kingman High School, 260 W. Kansas Ave.

The Kansas Honors Program celebrates its 40th anniversary this year. Since 1971, the program has recognized 114,000 scholars, who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 41 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state.

During the ceremony, each student will receive an American Heritage Dictionary, in both hardback and electronic versions, presented by Lynn Loveland, assistant director of Kansas programs for the KU Alumni Association.

Paul Buskirk, associate athletics director, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Debra Meisenheimer, of Kingman, is the site coordinator and a Kingman County coordinator. Charles Holcomb, of Cunningham, is also a Kingman County coordinator. Cindy Keller and Marcia Suiter, of Pratt, are Pratt County coordinators. Bob Slinkard, of Medicine Lodge, is the Barber County coordinator. Ron Giesen, of Anthony, is the Harper County coordinator.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program.

Attica High School: Jessica Nemechek

Chaparral High School: Jillian Ball, Faith Denwalt, Jordan Deterich, Sara Drouhard, Mariah Miller, Jessica Misak and Edna Rucoba

Cunningham High School: Kyle Kerschen and Chase Ward

Kingman High School: Amelia Govert, Jake Kaufman, Hayley Mertens, Kirstin Robinson, Shelby Swindle and Sarah Vanlandingham

Medicine Lodge High School: Megan Honas, Braden Hrencher, Tayla Kimball and Jonathan Oxley

Norwich High School: Sierra DaVila, Molly Poe, Shelby Rust and Megan VanGieson

Pratt High School: Victoria Black, Ellie Eastes, Jordan Garrett, Katie Hart, Dalton Hodgkinson, Megan Kennedy, Lindzie Rambat, Jessica Sanko and Lawson Short

Skyline High School: Reece Laci, Ashton Lee and Startzman Rosena

South Barber High School: Hailey Roark and Racheal Watts

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).