KU News Release

March 30, 2011
Contact: Jennifer Jackson Sanner, KU Alumni Association, 785-864-4760

KU to honor 16 high school seniors from four western Kansas counties on April 13

More Information

LAWRENCE — Students from five Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, April 13, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 16 seniors from high schools in Greeley, Lane, Scott and Wichita counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at the Majestic Theater, 420 Main St., Scott City.

The Kansas Honors Program celebrates its 40th anniversary this year. Since 1971, the program has recognized 114,000 scholars, who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 41 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state.

During the ceremony, each student will receive an American Heritage Dictionary, in both hardback and electronic versions, presented by Michelle Miles, assistant director of Kansas programs for the KU Alumni Association.

David Johnston, director of marketing and Internet services for the KU Alumni Association, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Kristi Schmitt, of Scott City, is the site coordinator as well as the coordinator for Scott, Lane and Wichita counties. Dalene Moser, of Tribune, is the Greeley County coordinator.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program.

Dighton High School: Nicole Beesley and Paul Fraley

Greeley County High School: Stephen Houston and Clay Robertson

Healy High School: Lindsey Scammehorn

Scott Community High School: Christopher Davis, Emily Hess, Carl Minnix, Katelin Murphy, Miles Pearson, Kaleb Roemer, Kaitlyn Thornburg and Kaytlin Whipple

Wichita County High School: Lindsey Estes, Kayla Graff and Hannah Mehl

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).