KU News Release

March 9, 2011
Contact: Jennifer Jackson Sanner, KU Alumni Association, 785-864-4760

KU to honor 21 high school seniors from Atchison County on March 23

More Information

LAWRENCE — Students from three Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, March 23, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 21 seniors from high schools in Atchison County will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at the Atchison Heritage Conference Center, 710 S. Ninth St.

The Kansas Honors Program celebrates its 40th anniversary this year. Since 1971, the program has recognized 114,000 scholars, who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 41 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state.

During the ceremony, each student will receive an American Heritage Dictionary, in both hardback and electronic versions, presented by Stefani Gerson, coordinator of student programs for the KU Alumni Association.

Ken Audus, dean of the School of Pharmacy , will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Chad and Carri Ball, of Atchison, are the site coordinators.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program.

Atchison County Community High School: Darren Falk, Riley Hundley, Ryan Martin, Lisa Mead, Jessica Schmalstieg and Emily Warriner

Atchison High School: Spencer Bauman, Mackenzie Cory, Melissa Falk, Abigail Filley, Sean Kratchman, Adina Ogle, K’Dee Rork, Chaundra Thornton, Kaitlyn Underwood and Kristen Zacharias

Maur Hill-Mount Academy: Joseph Asher, Patrick Klebba, Kathryn Schmidt, Rui Han (Maggie) Sun and Timothy Swingle

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).