KU News Release

May 11, 2011
Contact: Annie McBride or Kathy Rose-Mockry, Emily Taylor Women's Resource Center, 785-864-4861

Men of Merit poster features students, faculty and staff

LAWRENCE — Fifteen students, faculty and staff members at the University of Kansas have been recognized as the 2011 Men of Merit.

Men of Merit are positive role models for men on the KU campus. They are featured on an annual poster published in the spring by the Emily Taylor Women’s Resource Center in collaboration with Commission on the Status of Women, Student Senate and Kansas Athletics.

The poster recognizes men at KU who positively define masculinity through challenging norms, taking action and leading by example while making contributions to the university and/or community. This year, men with a wide range of skills, talents and accomplishments were chosen by a university committee after a nomination process.

This year’s Men of Merit poster includes four graduating seniors: Alejandro Jonathan Sabillion, Lawrence; Alex R. Earles, Assaria and Salina; Kory C. Kirkegaard, Topeka; and Jason Paul Kingman, Topeka. Other students on the poster are Richard A. Ross, a junior from Gleview, Ill.; Kameron DePaul Mack, a junior from Wichita; Eric A. Sader, a second-year law student and master’s student from Lawrence; Shane A. Henry, a master’s student from Kingman; and Tyrel R. Reed, a fall 2010 graduate from Burlington.

Faculty and staff on the poster are Frank DeSalvo, associate vice provost for Student Success; Curtis Marsh, program director for KU Info and the Learning Studio; Aaron Quisenberry, associate director for the Student Involvement and Leadership Center; Bill Tuttle, professor emeritus of American studies; Glen W. White, professor of applied behavioral science; and John G. Younger, professor of classics and chair of women, gender and sexuality studies.

Posters are available in the Student Involvement and Leadership Center, 400 Kansas Union.

Now in its third year, the Men of Merit poster was the brainchild of former KU football player Gary Green, designed to raise awareness of the importance of addressing stereotypes that can hinder men’s success on campus.

Current research supports the important role gender plays in college students’ identity development and academic achievement. The poster aims to increase awareness of the importance of education and involvement in men’s lives, inspire men to take an active role in their college experiences and provide role models and mentors for men to be successful.

Contributions and support for the poster were received from the Multicultural Education Fund, Commission on the Status of Women, Student Involvement and Leadership Center and the Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics. Photography was provided by Alexandra Avila, a senior from Wichita, and Jeff Jacobsen, a photographer for Kanas Athletics. Avila created and designed the 2011 poster in collaboration with Andrew Lee, communications coordinator for Student Success.

KU students named 2011 Men of Merit and students who helped to produce the poster are listed below by hometown, major or degree earned, parents’ names and other schools attended (when available).

From Burlington 66839
Tyrel Richard Reed, fall 2010 graduate in education; Stacy and Debbie Reed; Burlington High School.

From Lawrence 66044
Eric Allen Sader, second-year law student and master’s student in social work; bachelor’s degree from McPherson College.

From Lawrence 66049
Alejandro Jonathan Sabillon, senior in communication studies and political science; Alejandro and Waldina Sabillon; Lawrence Free State High School.

From Kingman 67068
Shayne A. Henry, master’s student in education; Rick and Jaymi Henry; bachelor’s degree from KU; Kingman High School.

From Assaria 67416 and Salina 67401
Alexander R. Earles, senior in communication studies and political science; Robin Earles (Assaria) and Peter Earles (Salina); Southeast Saline Senior High School, Gypsum.

From Wichita 67208
Kameron DePaul Mack, junior in journalism; Paula Potts; Wichita Heights High School.

From Wichita 67213
Alexandra Avila, senior in architecture; Jose and Maria Avila.

From Topeka 66605
Jason Paul Kingman, senior in anthropology and religious studies; Mark and Sheryl Kingman; Shawnee Heights Senior High School, Tecumseh.

From Topeka 66614
Kory Christian Kirkegaard, senior in biology; Martha Kirkegaard and the late Dr. Rodger S. Kirkegaard; Washburn Rural High School.

From Glenview 60025
Richard Alexander Ross, junior in communication studies and psychology; Richard and Kimberly Ross; Glenbrook South High School.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).