KU News Release

May 17, 2011
Contact: Jackie Hosey, School of Pharmacy, 785-864-1206

Pharmacy students join Rho Chi academic honor society

More Information

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas School of Pharmacy’s chapter of the Rho Chi Society has announced the names of 21 new members. The academic honor society invites the top 20 percent of students to join during their fourth semester of the pharmacy program.

Patricia Howard, professor and vice chair of pharmacy practice, delivered the keynote address and received the Alpha Rho chapter’s 2011 Award for Teaching Excellence at the April 19 ceremony.

KU chapter president Meghan Kolich said the Rho Chi Society encourages members to commit to a lifetime of learning and public service. The students donate their time to several causes throughout the year, including the Shadow Buddies Foundation, which designs dolls for sick and injured children in hospitals throughout the world.

The Alpha Rho chapter also announced its 2011-12 officers. The new officers are fourth-year pharmacy students Jareb Staulbaumer, president; Tabitha Snyder, vice president; Olivia Unruh, secretary; Brittany Potter, historian; Jeremy Snyder, tutoring coordinator; and Chris Carter, treasurer.

The new members are listed below by hometown, parents’ names and other schools attended (when available).

From Arkansas City 67005
William Joseph Anderson; Terry Anderson; Arkansas City High School.

From Walnut 66780
Danielle Dakota Smith; Don and Mary Smith; Erie High School.

Hesston 67062
Olivia Claire Unruh; Michael and Trudy Unruh; Hesston High School.

From Lenexa 66215
Harrison Austin Perdew; bachelor’s degree from the University of Virginia; Blue Valley North High School, Overland Park.

From Olathe 66061
Elizabeth Beverlin; John Beverlin; bachelor’s degree from Creighton University, Omaha, Neb.; Saint Thomas Aquinas High School, Overland Park.

Thomas Kiley Whitson; Cynthia and Dennis Whitson; Midland Adventist School, Shawnee.

From Coffeyville 67337
Elijah David Hershey; David and Kathy Hershey; Field Kindley Memorial High School.

From Dwight 66849
Abby Rae Switzer; Kelly and Kathy Switzer; Council Grove High School.

From Wetmore 66550
Jareb Tyler Stallbaumer; Kenneth and Joyce Stallbaumer; Wetmore High School.

From Larned 67550
Jeremy Lehman Snyder; Lanette Kellie; Larned High School.

Tabatha Jeanette Snyder; Jeannie Viegra; Larned High School.

From Salina 67401
Brandon David Thomas; Winona Thomas; Salina High School Central.

From Wichita 67203
Robert Lawrence Harding; Paul and Janice Harding; bachelor’s degree from Newman University; Bishop Carroll High School.

From Wichita 67207
Kathy Pham; Hiep and Anh Pham; Wichita Southeast High School.

From Wichita 67215
Craig Andrew Penner; Heritage High School, Littleton, Colo.

From Bentonville 72712
Alyssa Christine Potter; Mark and Helen Potter; Bentonville High School.

Brittany Charlotte Potter; Mark and Helen Potter; Bentonville High School.

From Burnsville 55306
Christopher Kyle Carter; Pamela Jagow; Apple Valley (Minn.) High School.

Wan To Poon.

From Ho Chi Minh City
Thanh Phuong Pham Nguyen; Bui Pham Van.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).