KU News Release

May 23, 2011
Contact: Jill Jess, University Relations, 785-864-8858

ROTC units commission 29 new officers

LAWRENCE — Twenty-five graduates of the University of Kansas were honored as newly commissioned officers in the armed forces during ceremonies earlier today.

Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little welcomed the cadets and their families, friends and guests. The guest speaker, Rear Adm. Douglas L. McClain, director of global operations for the U.S. Strategic Command, administered the oath of office for the new officers. They all completed the requirements of the Air Force, Army and Naval Reserve Officer Training Corps.

Commanding officers presenting commissions were Lt. Col. Gena R. Stuchbery, Air Force ROTC; Lt. Col. Victor S. Hamilton, Army ROTC; and Capt. Carl A. Carpenter, Naval ROTC.

Four graduates of other area colleges also were commissioned at the KU ceremony: Sharrod N. Greene of Baker University in Baldwin City and Aaron C. Hunter, Adam C. Smith and Hanh H. Vu-Peck of Washburn University in Topeka.

KU is one of only 50 universities in the nation offering an ROTC program that represents all branches of the military. KU’s ROTC program also trains cadets from Baker University, Haskell Indian Nations University in Lawrence, Mid-America Nazarene University in Olathe, the University of St. Mary in Leavenworth and Washburn University.

The newly commissioned officers are listed below by hometown, degree earned, military unit and, when available, their parents’ names and high schools.

From Augusta 67010
Abigael Blank, bachelor of general studies in liberal arts and sciences; Matthew and Karen Blank; Augusta High School; Marine Corps

From Lawrence 66047
Geoffrey T. Barnes, bachelor of science in aerospace engineering; Haldane High School, Cold Spring, N.Y.; Air Force ROTC

From Lawrence 66049
Joshua Matthew Smith, bachelor of general studies in communication studies; Leavenworth Senior High School; Army ROTC

From Junction City 66441
Cameron Davis, bachelor of arts in political science; Charles and Sharon Davis; Junction City Senior High School; Army ROTC

From Cimarron 67835
Joseph Adam Kinsey, bachelor of science in health and physical education; Michael and Glenda Kinsey; Cimarron High School; Army ROTC

From Circleville 66416
Edward Ross Rostetter II, bachelor of general studies in history; Edward and Elizabeth Rostetter; Jackson Heights High School, Holton; Naval ROTC

From Holton 66436
Nicholas William Krogmann, bachelor of arts in Slavic languages and literatures; Margret and Leroy Krogmann; Holton High School; Air Force ROTC

From Gardner 66030
John A. Fridlington, bachelor of arts in history; John and Jeri Lynn Fridlington; Gardner Edgerton High School; Army ROTC

From Olathe 66062
Lawrence Anson Ditton III, bachelor of science in aerospace engineering; Lawrence and Kathy Ditton; Olathe South High School; Air Force ROTC

Jeremy Michael Stevenson, bachelor of general studies in psychology; Army ROTC

From Olathe 66061
Christopher Robert Knoll, bachelor of science in finance; Olathe East High School; Army ROTC

From Fort Leavenworth 66027 and Copperas Cove, Texas
Elizabeth Helen Whitford, bachelor of science in microbiology; Brenda and Dean Whitford of Copperas Cove, Texas; Leavenworth Senior High School; Naval ROTC

From Lansing 66043
Kyle Joseph Buehler, bachelor of arts in biology; David and Lisa Buehler; Lansing High School; Air Force ROTC

From Louisburg 66053
Christopher Michael Zielinski, bachelor of science in sport science; Michael Zielinski; Jefferson County North High School; Army ROTC

From Paola 66071
Christian Nicolo Jensen, bachelor of arts in political science; Steven and Bonnie Jensen; Paola High School; Marine Corps

From Salina 67401
Kellan Thomas Arpke, bachelor of science in finance; Thomas and Beth Arpke; Salina High School South; Naval ROTC

From Andale 67001
Matthew Robert Moore, bachelor of arts in geography; Cheryl and Mark Moore; Andale High School; Army ROTC

From Tecumseh 66542
Joshua Lee Reid, bachelor of general studies in history; Daniel and Shelli Reid; Shawnee Heights Senior High School; Marine Corps

From Colorado Springs 80908
John Mulholland McDonald, bachelor of general studies in history; John and Susan McDonald; Lewis Palmer High School, Monument, Colo.; Naval ROTC

From Westminster 80234
Jacob Edward Thomson, bachelor of arts in film and media studies; Rodney and Linda Thomson; Legacy High School, Broomfield, Colo.; Army ROTC

From Carlyle 62231
Dennis Edward Hugo, bachelor of science in mechanical engineering; Carlyle High School; Naval ROTC

From Libertyville 60048
Sean Patrick Morrow, bachelor of science in finance; John and Mary Morrow; Libertyville High School; Marine Corps

From Great Mills 20634
Cody Tyler Smith, bachelor of general studies in English; Kathleen Cecil and J. Edward Smith; Great Mills High School; Naval ROTC

From Eugene 97401
Cortney Renee Coke, bachelor of general studies in applied behavioral science; Shawn and Lisa Coke; Henry D. Sheldon High School, Eugene, Ore.; Army ROTC

From Copperas Cove 76522 and Fort Leavenworth, Kan.
Elizabeth Helen Whitford. SEE LEAVENWORTH COUNTY.

From Sammamish 98075
Anne Marie Gockel, bachelor of arts in sociology; Diane and Donald Gockel; Issaquah (Wash.) High School; Marine Corps

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).