KU News Release

May 24, 2011
Contact: Cody Howard, School of Engineering, 785-864-2936

Two engineering students named Tau Beta Pi Scholars

More Information

LAWRENCE — A prestigious engineering student organization has honored two University of Kansas School of Engineering students.

Danish Suleman Tarar, a junior in petroleum engineering, and Matt Williams, a junior in aerospace engineering, were recently selected as Tau Beta Pi Scholars for the 2011-12 academic year. Each will receive a $2,000 scholarship for their senior year of study.

Williams and Tarar are among 156 undergraduate students from around the nation selected this year as Tau Beta Pi Scholars. The distinguished engineering honor society selects members “on the competitive bases of scholarship, campus leadership and service, and promise of contributions to the engineering profession.”

Tarar is the incoming president for KU’s Society of Petroleum Engineers, after serving as the organization’s treasurer the past two years. During his sophomore year, he served as vice president of Phi Beta Delta, an honor society that recognizes faculty and students who have significantly contributed toward campus internationalization and promotion of intercultural awareness and harmony.

He said receiving recognition from Tau Beta Pi is a source of pride for him — and the university.

“I am particularly happy to get this award because I feel that not only does it bring recognition for me, but also for the School of Engineering, which actually provided me with the tools necessary for this award,” Tarar said.

Tarar is the recipient of a Dodson Scholarship from Tau Beta Pi. He plans to attend graduate school after graduating from KU next spring.

Williams is a Self Engineering Leadership Fellow and an engineering ambassador, and he’s involved in Engineers Without Borders, serving as leader on a sanitation project for the remote village of Azacilo, Bolivia.

“It is always a pleasure to be recognized for one’s efforts,” Williams said. “As my career here at KU is coming to an end, I am finding that everything I did in my first few years here is starting to pay off and others are taking notice. That hard work and determination meant something more than just increasing my knowledge.”

Williams received a Record Scholarship from Tau Beta Pi, named for Leroy E. Record, a 1929 graduate of KU. After he graduates from KU next spring, Williams plans to attend graduate school to study aerospace control and structural design.

Tarar and Williams were selected from a field of more than 375 applicants from some of the most prestigious colleges in the nation. The 2011-12 Tau Beta Pi Scholars are the 13th group and bring the total to 1,116 scholars.

From Kansas City 66109
Matthew Aaron Williams will be a senior in aerospace engineering this fall. His parents are Kimberly Wetzel-Williams and Robert Williams. He is a Tonganoxie High School graduate.

From Islamabad
Danish Suleman Tarar will be a senior in petroleum engineering this fall. His parent is Zaman Tarar.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).