KU News Release

May 26, 2011
Contact: Jill Jess, University Relations, 785-864-8858

Three students receive federal Critical Language Scholarships

LAWRENCE — Three students at the University of Kansas have received Critical Language Scholarships through the U.S. Department of State to study critical-need languages this summer.

The KU recipients, their chosen language of study and host countries are:

— Rachel A. Voorhies, a doctoral student in history of art from Fayetteville, Ark., will study Japanese in Japan
— Jeremiah A. Miller, a master’s student in creative writing from Branson, Mo., will study advanced Arabic in Morrocco
— Robert Bogdan Halloran, a sophomore in African and African-American studies and sociology from Lawrence, will study Arabic in Oman.

Voorhies earned a master’s degree in history of art from KU in 2008 and a bachelor’s degree from Carlton College in Northfield, Minn., in 2004. She is a graduate of Fayetteville High School. Her parents are Stephen and Anna Voorhies.

Miller has completed four semesters of Arabic at KU. In 2003, he earned a bachelor’s degree from William Jewell College in Liberty, Mo. He is a graduate of Branson High School. His parents are Steve and Carol Miller.

Halloran is a graduate of Lawrence Free State High School and his guardian is Mary Halloran.

The three KU students are among the approximately 575 U.S. undergraduate and graduate students who received scholarships from the State Department’s critical language program this year to study Arabic, Azerbaijani, Bangla/Bengali, Chinese, Hindi, Korean, Indonesian, Japanese, Persian, Punjabi, Russian, Turkish or Urdu languages. U.S. students will spend seven to 10 weeks in intensive summer language institutes in 14 countries where these languages are spoken. The program provides fully funded, group-based intensive language instruction and structured cultural experiences. Participants are expected to continue their language study and apply their critical language skills in their professional careers.

Students were selected based on merit from among more than 5,200 applicants. They represent all 50 states and a range of academic disciplines and U.S. colleges and universities.

The State Department launched the Critical Language Scholarships for Intensive Summer Institutes in 2006 to increase opportunities for American students to study critical-need languages overseas. The program is part of a wider U.S. government effort to expand the number of Americans studying and mastering critical languages.

The scholarship recipients are among the more than 40,000 academic and professional exchange program participants supported annually by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs to promote mutual understanding and respect between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Critical Language Scholarships Program is administered by the Council of American Overseas Research Centers and American Councils for International Education.

For more information about the program, visit www.clscholarship.org.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).