KU News Release

May 26, 2011
Contact: Rebecca Smith, KU Libraries, 785-864-1761

KU Libraries announces student employee awards

More Information

LAWRENCE — Four students who work at University of Kansas Libraries have received Dean’s Awards for Student Employee Excellence. The awards recognize dedication and service excellence and were announced at KU Libraries’ annual student worker picnic May 12.

Dean Lorraine Haricombe created the award in 2010 at KU Endowment. It is funded by private contributions. Students are nominated by library staff and faculty; the winners are selected by the KU Libraries Board of Advocates. Each winner received a cash prize of $250.

“Our student workers are essential to maintaining our services, collections and operations,” Haricombe said. “We simply couldn’t do what we do without them. I am very grateful for all of their contributions within the libraries.”

The 2011 winners are Marshall Beauchamp, Jono Bowles, Frances Lafferty and Brian Moss.

Beauchamp works in the International Area Studies Department in Watson Library. He was nominated by Malgorzata Stamm, program assistant for the Slavic and Eurasian Studies Department; Jon Giullian, librarian for Slavic and Eurasian studies; and Mary Raple, program assistant for the International Area Studies Department.

Bowles works in Instructional Services and was nominated by Tami Albin, undergraduate instruction and outreach librarian.

Lafferty is a student photographer in Spencer Research Library’s image production lab and was nominated by Sarah Goodwin Thiel, digital imaging librarian.

Brian Moss, a graduate student at KU who holds a master’s degree in library science, is a graduate reference specialist and collection development assistant for KU Libraries. He was nominated by Lea Currie in the collections unit.

KU Libraries employs 221 student workers in seven locations on campus, making it one of the largest employers of students at KU.

Winners are listed below by hometown, level in school, major and parents’ names.

From Lawrence 66049
Jono Bowles, graduating senior in information systems and technology and marketing; Bob and Marla Bowles.

Brian Moss, graduate student in global and international studies; Dennis and Judith Moss.

From Fairway 66205
Frances Lafferty, graduating senior in psychology; George and Cindy Lafferty.

From Hutchinson 67502
Marshall Beauchamp, junior in psychology; Anthony and Jeanine Beauchamp.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).