KU News Release

May 26, 2011
Contact: Jackie Hosey, School of Pharmacy, 785-864-1206

Pharmacy leadership society inducts 23 new members

More Information

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas School of Pharmacy’s chapter of Phi Lambda Sigma has welcomed 23 new members for the 2011-12 academic year.

Beta Iota chapter president and fourth-year pharmacy student Courtney Johnson said induction into the pharmacy leadership society is by invitation only. Potential members must be nominated by their fellow students.

“It’s truly an honor for them to be nominated by their peers who recognize them as people who are dedicated to leadership and service,” Johnson said.

Throughout the year, members will continue to develop their leadership skills through seminars and community service projects. Seminars often feature practicing pharmacists and allow students not only the opportunity to learn but also to build lasting professional relationships.

The new members are listed below by hometown, level in school, parents’ names and other schools attended and/or degrees earned. All are pursuing doctor of pharmacy degrees, a six-year professional program at KU.

From Winfield 67156
Megan L. Ziegler, fifth-year PharmD student; Don and Kathy Ziegler; Winfield High School.

From Walnut 66780
Katie Marie Blackbourn, sixth-year PharmD student; Marion and Deborah Blackbourn; Girard High School.

From Clay Center 67432
Bethany Ann Penner, fifth-year PharmD student; Tim and Lori Penner; Clay Center Community High School.

From Lawrence 66047
Emily Ann Bergkamp, fifth-year PharmD student; bachelor’s degree from Friends University; Pretty Prairie High School.

From Lawrence 66049
Laura Jeanne Randall, fifth-year PharmD student; bachelor’s degree from Wichita State University; Augusta High School.

Joanna Marie Wakeman, fifth-year PharmD student; Richard and Mary Wakeman; Lawrence High School.

From Garden City 67846
Heather Nichole Hansen, fifth-year PharmD student; Frank and Gail Hansen; Garden City Senior High School.

From Hesston 67062
Ashley Shogren, fourth-year PharmD student; Bruce and Velvet Shogren; Hesston High School.

From Fairway 66205
Angela Margaret Miller, fifth-year PharmD student; Jacelyn and John Miller; Notre Dame De Sion, Kansas City, Mo.

From Olathe 66062
Justin M. Sheets, fourth-year PharmD student; Brian and Kim Sheets; Olathe East High School.

From Liberty 67351
Kelsey Tole Lackey, sixth-year PharmD student; Timothy and Nancy Lackey; bachelor’s degree from Pittsburg State University; Cherryvale Senior High.

From Dwight 66849
Abby Rae Switzer, fifth-year PharmD student; Kelly and Kathy Switzer; Council Grove High School.

From Republic 66964
Morgan Lee Sandell, fifth-year PharmD student; Richard and Nancy Sandell; Republic County High School.

From Wichita 67206
Christine MaiAnh Nguyen, sixth-year PharmD student; Jimmy and Mai Nguyen; Wichita Southeast High School.

From Wichita 67209
Brandi Lynne Holt, fourth-year PharmD student; Mark and Cheri Holt; Goddard Senior High School.

From Kensington 66951
Alyce Estelle Reneberg, fifth-year PharmD student; Ron and Kristi Reneberg; Thunder Ridge District High School.

From Kansas City 66103
Amy A. Karim, fourth-year PharmD student; Lafayette High School, Wildwood, Mo.

From Des Moines 50310
Traci Lynn Reid, fifth-year PharmD student; Delores A. Lankford; Hoover High School.

From Jasper 64755
Rebecca Lynn Carpenter, fourth-year PharmD student; David and Teresa Carpenter; Jasper R-5 High School.

From Kansas City 64152
Katherine Suzanne Klockau, sixth-year PharmD student; Chris and Pam Klockau; Saint Pius X High School.

From West Plains 65775
Seth William Connelly, fourth-year PharmD student; Linda Wooten; West Plains High School.

Wan To Poon, fifth-year PharmD student.

From Nairobi
Hetal Girishkumar Pravinbhai Shah, fifth-year PharmD student; bachelor’s degree from KU.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).