KU News Release

May 3, 2011
Contact: Mike Krings, University Relations, 785-864-8860

Six faculty members to be honored at Commencement for outstanding teaching

More Information

LAWRENCE — Six faculty members will be honored at Commencement for outstanding work in the classroom during the 2010-11 academic year with distinguished teaching awards.

The Chancellor’s Awards for Outstanding Classroom Teaching annually honor faculty from the KU Medical Center for excellence in teaching. This year’s recipients are Wanda Bonnel, associate professor of nursing; Brian Petroff, assistant professor of internal medicine; and Glendon Cox, professor and chair of health policy and management.

Three faculty members from the Lawrence campus will be honored as well. Arianna Wall Postlethwait, assistant professor of social welfare, is the recipient of the Silver Anniversary Award. The award, presented by the 25-year anniversary class, includes a $2,500 cash prize. It is presented annually to tenure-track faculty members.

Debra Hedden, associate professor of music, is the winner of the Byron Shutz Award. The award was founded in 1978 to honor exceptional teaching in economics and business. It was modified in 1985 to include faculty from all disciplines in alternate years. Winners receive a $4,000 cash prize and present a lecture on their topic of expertise during the fall semester.

Stephen Scott Ilardi, associate professor of psychology, will receive the Ned N. Fleming Trust Award. The award recognizes distinguished teaching, scholarship and service and carries a $5,000 cash prize.

Commencement will take place at 10:30 a.m. Sunday, May 22, in Memorial Stadium.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).