KU News Release

May 31, 2011
Contact: Karen Brichoux, Kress Foundation Department of Art History, 785-864-4713

Art history department announces award winners for 2010-11

Go to county and state directory

LAWRENCE — The Kress Foundation Department of Art History at the University of Kansas announced its awards for excellence for the 20010-11 academic year during the 36th annual Amsden Awards Ceremony on May 6.

Sarah Crawford-Parker, special assistant to the provost for academic affairs and learning initiatives, was the guest speaker at the ceremony. KU Endowment administers funds for the awards, which were presented by art history faculty members to outstanding students.

Matthew DeWitt, Jennifer Friess and Megan Koza Young each received a Marilyn Stokstad Award. The award recognizes graduate students in art history who have made major contributions to the educational mission of the department. The awards, which provide cash, are made possible by Stokstad, distinguished professor emerita of art history, who established an endowed fund.

Lauren Smith and Ellen Raimond received the Marilyn J. Stokstad Spencer Museum of Art Student Award. Also created by Stokstad, this cash award honors undergraduate or graduate students who have made major contributions to the mission of the Spencer Museum of Art. Museum staff select the recipient of this annual award.

Myenghee Son received the Laurence Sickman Scholarship. The scholarship was established in honor of Sickman, past curator of Chinese art and director of the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art in Kansas City, Mo., to recognize an outstanding student specializing in Chinese art. The scholarship goes toward tuition.

Annie Kroshus received the Scholarship for Academic Excellence in Asian Art History, a cash award given annually by an anonymous donor.

Mindy Besaw, Sooa Im, Ye Gee Kwon, Loren Whittaker and Tyler York each received an Academic Excellence Scholarship. The scholarship goes toward tuition.

Megan Blocksom won the Timothy Mitchell Memorial Art History Award for Academic Excellence. This annual cash award was established in honor of Mitchell, who taught art history at KU from 1979 until his death in 1993. The award recognizes outstanding academic excellence in the graduate program.

Melissa Melling, Leanne Tracy and Elizabeth Najim received the summer 2010, spring 2011 and fall 2011 Edmund Eglinski Scholarship for Study Abroad, respectively. Named for the professor emeritus of art history, this award goes to tuition for undergraduates studying art history in Europe.

Annette Becker received the Jeanne Stump Senior Award, which provides cash and a book in the student’s area of interest to the outstanding graduating senior in art history in honor of Stump, professor emerita of art history.

The Amsden Book Awards were established in 1976 by the late Floyd and Barbara Amsden of Wichita. Faculty members and graduate teaching assistants selected winners based on classroom excellence regardless of class level or major.

Thirty-eight students received books on subjects in which they excelled. Art history faculty members presented the awards.

KU Endowment is the independent, nonprofit organization serving as the official fundraising and fund-management organization for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment is the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.

Award recipients are listed below by hometown, major, level in school or degree received and, when available, parents’ names and previous schools attended.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).