KU News Release

May 31, 2011
Contact: Jayme Uden, Department of Student Housing, 785-864-4560

Department of Student Housing honors outstanding residents, staffers

LAWRENCE — Fourteen students who work for the Department of Student Housing at the University of Kansas have been honored for their extraordinary contributions to their fellow residents.

The students were recognized during the Kenneth L. Stoner awards banquet May 1. The event is named for a former director of student housing.

The awards honored the residence and scholarship halls as well as student staff members. KU’s Department of Student Housing serves about 5,200 students and families in more than 60 buildings across campus, including eight residence halls, 12 scholarship halls and two apartment complexes.

Douthart Scholarship Hall received the Scholarship Hall of the Year award and Lewis-Templin Complex was named Complex Community of the Year.

Students were honored in several categories, including Hall Government Member of the Year, Resident Assistant of the Year, Student of the Year and Food Board Manager of the Year.

Educational programming planned by student committees also received honors. The National Residence Hall Honorary recognized programs such as Diversity Program of the Year and Academic Achievement Award of the Year.

Stoner, native of Garden City, served as KU’s director of student housing from 1985 to 2006. Before working at KU, he was associate director of housing at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville. He returned to Tennessee in 2006 as assistant vice chancellor for student affairs and executive director of housing. From 1989 to 1990, Stoner was president of the Association of College and University Housing Officers-International.

Student award recipients are listed below by hometown, level in school, major, parents’ names, other schools attended and/or degrees earned and award.

From Lawrence 66049
Shelton Philip Heilman, senior in mechanical engineering; Steve and Sally Heilman; Lawrence Free State High School; Desk Manager of the Year.

From Olathe 66061
Jessica N. Habluetzel, senior in Spanish and music therapy; Clair and Patti Habluetzel; Olathe Northwest High School; Proctor of the Year.

From Overland Park 66209
Tyler Scott James Holmes, senior in history and political science; Roger and Katherine Holmes; Blue Valley North High School; Returning Resident Assistant of the Year.

From Prairie Village 66208
Samantha Alexandra Benson, sophomore in chemistry; Marjorie and Paul Benson; Shawnee Mission East High School; Scholarship Hall Government Member of the Year.

From Shawnee 66216
Bailey Marie Reimer, junior in American studies and linguistics; Jami Reimer; Shawnee Mission Northwest High School; Rookie Resident Assistant of the Year.

From Kingman 67068
Dayona Rae Nett, senior in human biology; Dwight and Donna Nett; Kingman High School; System Government Member of the Year.

From McPherson 67460
Alysha Coy Dockum, master’s student in education; Terry Dockum; bachelor’s degree from Pittsburg State; McPherson High School; Adviser of the Year.

From Topeka 66604
Cara Nuefeld Smith, senior in applied behavioral science; Roger and Cynthia Smith; Topeka High School; Food Board Manager of the Year.

From Topeka 66610 and 66615
Katherine Elizabeth Farrington, senior in management and leadership; Mary Farrington (66615) and William Farrington (66610); Hayden High School; Senior Staff Resident Assistant of the Year.

From Topeka 66611
Addison Sierra Keegan Harris, freshman in communication studies; Tracy Keegan; Topeka High School; Hall Government Member of the Year.

From Naperville 60540
Conor Patrick Taft, sophomore preparing to major in sport science and community health; Anne and Steve Taft; Naperville North High School; Student of the Year.

From Wildwood 63005
Eric Lee Witthaus, senior in architectural engineering; Daniel and Lynn Witthaus; Lafayette High School; Desk Manager of the Year.

From Waukesha 53186
Terrance M. Webster, master’s student in education; bachelor’s degree from the University of Wisconsin; Adviser of the Year.

Wendy Yung, senior in social work; Wai Yun Choi and Choi Wai Yin; bachelor’s degree in applied behavioral science from KU, 2008; Wichita (Kan.) Southeast High School; Student Hourly of the Year.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).