KU News Release

Sept. 12, 2011
Contact: Emily Huckabay, Office for Diversity in Science Training, 785-864-7316

Reception to honor students, faculty in NIH science programs

More Information

LAWRENCE — The KU Office of Diversity in Science Training will host its 5th Annual Welcome Reception honoring students and faculty mentors at KU and Haskell participating in 2011-12 programs funded by the National Institutes of Health to encourage underserved students to pursue careers in biomedical science.

The reception will be held Tuesday, Sept. 13, at 4 p.m. in the Bruckmiller room of the Adams Alumni Center. All KU faculty and staff are invited to attend to support the participants and mentors of these programs. A brief program will begin at 4:30 p.m.

The director of KU’s Office for Diversity in Science Training, James Orr, will recognize 38 returning students and newly selected participants in five NIH-supported programs at KU and Haskell: Bridges to the Baccalaureate, Initiative for Maximizing Student Development (IMSD), Institutional Research and Academic Career Development Award (IRACDA), Post-Baccalaureate Research Education Program (PREP), and Research Initiative for Scientific Enhancement (RISE).

Estela Gavosto, associate director of the Office for Diversity in Science Training, will announce the 2011 faculty mentor of the year. The mentor of the year is nominated by ODST students who worked in a research lab under the mentorship of the faculty member. This award was established in 2006 to recognize exceptional faculty mentors who engage students in research in their labs and make the success of these training programs possible.

More information on Office for Diversity in Science Training programs can be found at www2.ku.edu/~odst.

Participants are listed below by hometown, university, tribal affiliations (if applicable), major, NIH program and faculty mentor. KU students are listed with their parents’ names and high schools, when available.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).