KU News Release

April 19, 2012
Contact: Austin Falley, School of Business, 785-864-3852

KU business school to honor distinguished alumni

David Booth

David Murfin

More Information

LAWRENCE — David Booth and David Murfin are the recipients of the University of Kansas School of Business 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award.

Booth and Murfin join an elite group of business alumni who have been recognized for their dedication to excellence in business, community service and commitment to KU. They will be honored Thursday, April 19, at a private reception at The Oread.

David Booth, who resides in Austin, Texas, earned a bachelor’s degree in economics in 1968 and a master’s in business in 1969 from KU. He received his MBA from the University of Chicago in 1971.

He founded Dimensional Fund Advisors in 1981 and oversees the firm’s key corporate initiatives and strategic long-range planning as chairman and co-CEO.

Booth is a member of the Board of Trustees of the KU Endowment Association.

The University of Chicago Booth School of Business was named in honor of David, where he also serves as a lifetime member of the school’s advisory council.

Booth made international news in 2010 with his purchase of James Naismith’s original 13 rules of basketball.

David Murfin graduated from KU in 1975 with bachelor’s degrees in business and engineering. While at KU, he served as president of Student Union Activities.

He is president of Murfin Drilling Company Inc. Founded in 1926, the company ranked No. 1 in oil production in Kansas in 2008 and 2009. He is also chairman and CEO of Murfin Inc. Both companies are based in Wichita, with many diverse business operations.

Murfin is a member of the KU School of Business Board of Advisors and a trustee for the KU Endowment.

He currently serves on the National Petroleum Council and is chairman of the National Stripper Well Association.

The School of Business established the Distinguished Alumni Award in 1998 to honor outstanding graduates. To date, 46 alumni have been recognized with the award. Past recipients include entrepreneur Philip Anschutz, former Goldman Sachs executive Robert Kaplan, Cerner Corp. co-founder Clifford Illig, and Emprise Bank chairman Mike Michaelis.

Award recipients are chosen from the nominations of other alumni and the school’s advisory board. Candidates are selected on the basis of their business success and service to their communities and to the school.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).