KU News Release

April 26, 2012
Contact: Rebecca Smith, KU Libraries, 785-864-1761

Snyder Book Collecting Contest winners honored

More Information

LAWRENCE — The winners of the 56th Snyder Book Collecting Contest at the University of Kansas were honored at a reception April 19. Dean Lorraine J. Haricombe presented the awards to the students, and James Gunn, KU English professor emeritus and noted science fiction author, delivered a keynote address.

The contest was established by Elizabeth Snyder in 1957 to cultivate and recognize KU undergraduate and graduate students’ interest in collecting books.

In the undergraduate division, Allie Alvis, a junior from Wichita, won first place with her collection, “Language and Linguistics: How Words Changed My Life.” Trent Boultinghouse, a senior from Girard, took second place with “Accessible Radicalism: The Subversive Printing Tradition of Girard, Kansas,” and David Reiersgord, a senior from Edina, Minn., earned an honorable mention for “Ubuntu: Unity, and Diversity in South African Letters.”

In the graduate division, Laci Gerhart of Hutchinson took first place with “The Evolution of Scientific Knowledge: Vintage and Antique Textbooks of the Natural and Physical Sciences.” Peter A. Williams of Lawrence received second place for “Beauty is a Rare Thing: A Collection of Works by, about, and Inspired by Ornette Coleman,” and Jeffrey Bergfalk of Kansas City earned an honorable mention for his collection, “By Brakhage.”

The winner of each division received a $600 prize and a $100 gift certificate from Jayhawk Ink for the KU Bookstores. Second-place winners received a $400 prize and a $50 gift certificate. Honorable mention winners received a $100 prize and a $25 gift certificate.

Judges for this year's contest were Gunn; Beth Whittaker, head of the Kenneth Spencer Research Library, and Howard Graham, Learning Services Coordinator at KU Athletics and a former Snyder contest winner.

For more information about the contest and its history, visit online.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).