KU News Release

April 26, 2012
Contact: Lisa Scheller, KU Endowment, 785-832-7398

Former State Sen. David Wysong named Advancement Board chair

Pictured from left are Mary Birch, former Sen. David Wysong and Cheryl Jernigan.

More Information

Kansas City, Kan. — Former Kansas Sen. David Wysong, of Mission Hills, Kan., is the new chair of the Advancement Board, an 85-member organization of business and community leaders formed in 2005 to promote the interests of the University of Kansas Medical Center, The University of Kansas Hospital and the University of Kansas Physicians.

Wysong was elected chair at today’s board meeting. He follows Cheryl Jernigan, who completed her second two-year term as chair. The new chair-elect is Mary Birch, a Kansas City-area civic leader and chair of the government relations practice area for Lathrop & Gage. Mary Hunkeler was re-elected for a second term as secretary.

Wysong said his goals include increasing members’ engagement in advancing the awareness of what the medical center and hospital are doing, and expanding the board from primarily a Kansas City metropolitan board to a statewide board and then to a national board.

The Advancement Board has worked to raise awareness of and support for The University of Kansas Cancer Center’s efforts to apply for designation from the National Cancer Institute. It also has advocated for the heart institute and neurosciences.

“One of our priorities will be to further engage legislators toward biosciences research on both sides of the state line,” said Wysong. “Biosciences not only improve human health, but they also make money, and the economics of it all makes sense — the more you fund in this arena, the better it is for everyone.”

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).