KU News Release

April 27, 2012
Contact: Gavin Young, Office of Public Affairs, 785-864-7100

KU announces interim engineering dean

Stanley Rolfe

More Information
LAWRENCE — Stanley Rolfe, Albert P. Learned Distinguished Professor in the Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering Department at the University of Kansas, will serve as interim dean of the School of Engineering. Rolfe will immediately begin working with Dean Stuart Bell, who leaves to become executive vice chancellor and provost at Louisiana State University on August 2.

“After consulting with engineering faculty, staff and students, Dr. Rolfe’s name was consistently mentioned as the ideal individual to lead the school during this transition,” said KU Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Jeffrey Vitter. “He will provide strong leadership while a nationwide search commences for a permanent replacement for Dr. Bell.”

Rolfe is one of two current university faculty members who are members of the National Academy of Engineering, the highest professional distinction accorded to an engineer. KU is the only university in the state with faculty members in the academy. He joined the faculty of the civil engineering department in 1969 and served as department chair for 23 years from 1975 to 1998. During that time, he worked closely with alumni to strengthen programs and raise funds.

“While we’re disappointed to see Dean Bell leave for LSU, we are excited for him and grateful for his accomplishments over the past 10 years,” Rolfe said. “I look forward to continuing our progress in implementing the Building for Excellence initiative as the search proceeds for our next dean.”

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).