KU News Release

Feb. 16, 2012
Contact: Elaine Warren, Edwards Campus, 913-897-8411

More Kansas City-area students eligible for discounted KU tuition

More Information

TOPEKA – More Missouri residents will be eligible for discounted tuition at the University of Kansas Edwards Campus thanks to action by the Kansas Board of Regents.

Wednesday afternoon the board passed a KU proposal expanding the MetroKC tuition waiver, increasing the number of Kansas City-area counties in the program and the size of the discount.

“Making college more affordable is part of KU’s responsibility to educate the leaders Kansas City needs in order to grow and prosper. Expanding the tuition waiver builds on the work we’ve been doing to expand our academic offerings at the KU Edwards Campus to better serve Kansas City residents,” said Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little.

Starting in fall 2012, students in eleven Missouri counties will be eligible for resident tuition for classes at the KU Edwards Campus. Currently, the MetroKC discount for undergraduates is one-half the difference of resident and non-resident tuition.

Graduate students from eligible Missouri counties already pay resident rates and this discount will apply to graduate students from the additional counties.

Currently, students from Cass, Clay, Jackson and Platte counties are eligible for the MetroKC tuition waiver. Starting in fall 2012, students from the following counties will also be eligible: Bates, Buchanan, Clinton, Henry, Johnson, Lafayette and Ray.

“We are grateful to the Board of Regents for the decision to expand the MetroKC rate to residents of Missouri in the eleven-county area. Students from these counties now have an expanded choice of high-quality academic programs that ultimately lead to a stronger economy and a higher quality of life for students and their families,” said KU Edwards Campus Vice Chancellor Bob Clark.

The Regents’ action also removed a restriction limiting the reduced tuition to only six credit hours per semester and made the MetroKC tuition waiver available to non-degree seeking students.

Thanks to the support of local residents through the Johnson County Education and Research Triangle, the KU Edwards Campus will officially open the Business, Engineering, Science, and Technology (BEST) Complex next month. The complex is part of a campus expansion that will add 10 new degree programs, including undergraduate programs in business administration and information technology.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).