KU News Release

November 1, 2012
Contact: Alison Watkins, International Programs, 785-864-4963

KU students named Global Scholars

More Information

LAWRENCE — Fifteen sophomores at the University of Kansas have been competitively selected as Global Scholars. This program, coordinated by Brent Steele, director of faculty programs for International Programs, recognizes and encourages undergraduate students who have an interest in global studies and a strong academic record.

The 15 students come from a wide range of disciplines across the university. They were selected for their demonstrated interest in global and international studies, plans for studying abroad and potential for high academic achievement and leadership.

The group will participate in a three-hour weekly seminar, Memory in a Global Perspective, taught by Elizabeth MacGonagle, associate professor of history. Students will be paired with a faculty mentor with similar interests for the remainder of their undergraduate studies and present research on global and international studies during the spring semester of their senior year. Each will receive a $1,000 scholarship to be applied toward a KU-approved study abroad program.

“We had another strong set of candidates for this third cohort of Global Scholars. We once again had to turn away many fantastic applicants. As a result, we have selected a group of exceptional undergraduate scholars with diverse intellectual interests, backgrounds and career goals. Like the first two cohorts, this is an interdisciplinary group with strong, dynamic and vibrant global and international research interests,” Steele said.

The 2013 Global Scholars are listed below by hometown, parents’ names, areas of interest, and high school.

Dickinson County
Kat Youtsey, Bruce and Denise Youtsey, Abilene, sophomore in history, graduate of Abilene High School

Douglas County
Dakota Driscoll, Lawrence, Kelly Driscoll and Jeff Yosten, sophomore in Italian studies and business management and leadership, graduate of Free State High School

Erin Ice, Lawrence, Evan and Jill Ice, sophomore in human biology and Spanish, graduate of Free State High School

Johnson County
Heathyr Johnson, Anna and Steven Johnson, Olathe, sophomore in secondary English education, graduate of Olathe East High School

Betsy Tampke, Marilyn and Scott Tampke, Leawood, sophomore in creative writing, finance and international business, graduate of St. Teresa’s Academy

Michael Garrett, Mary and Paul Garrett, Lenexa, sophomore in journalism and Spanish, graduate of Shawnee Mission West High School

Christina Ralston, Lenexa, Jim and Sherry Ralston, sophomore in biology, graduate of Shawnee Mission West High School

Marion County
Ashlie Koehn, Burns, Carolyn and Rodney Koehn, sophomore in global and international studies and environmental studies, graduate of Frederic Remington High School

McPherson County
Drew Harger, David and Linda Harger, McPherson, sophomore in finance, graduate of McPherson High School

Saline County
Kellen Smutz, Jay and Alta Smutz, Salina, sophomore in human biology, graduate of Salina Central High School

Shawnee County
Nicole Richardson, Susan Richardson, Berryton, sophomore in political science and global and international studies, graduate of Silver Lake High School

Anna Wenner, Rebecca Wenner, Topeka, sophomore in English and history, graduate of Topeka West High School

Jennifer Corcoran, Evergreen Park, Ill., Judy and Clarke Corcoran, sophomore in Spanish, graduate of Marist High School

Aimee Sommerville, Edina, Minn., John and Kathy Sommerville, sophomore in political science and French, graduate of Edina High School

Amanda Swanson, Joe and Suzanne Swanson, Erie, Colo., sophomore in linguistics and Spanish, graduate of Peak to Peak Charter School

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).