KU News Release

November 16, 2012
Contact: Rosita McCoy, KU Endowment, 785-832-7336; Lisa Scheller, KU Endowment, 785-832-7398

Four professors honored with prestigious Chancellors Club Teaching Professorships

Philip Barnard

Winnie Dunn

Paul Hanson

Jack Winerock

More Information

LAWRENCE — Four University of Kansas faculty members have been named Chancellors Club Teaching Professors: Philip Barnard, professor of English; Winnie Dunn, professor of occupational therapy; Paul R. Hanson, professor of chemistry; and Jack Winerock, professor of music.

Recipients are selected based on outstanding teaching performance as acknowledged by students and colleagues. The Chancellors Club, formed in 1977 by KU Endowment, is KU’s major-donor organization. The organization established the professorships in 1981.

These appointments bring the total number of Chancellors Club Teaching Professors to 14. Four professors teach at KU Medical Center; the rest teach on the Lawrence campus.

Philip Barnard has taught in the Department of English since 1989. His areas of expertise are literature of the Revolutionary Age (1780-1830), cultural materialism and literary theory. He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Kentucky, his master’s degree from American University in Cairo, and his doctorate in comparative literature from State University of New York-Buffalo.

“In a department and university with many superb teachers, this award is a great honor,” Barnard said. “It highlights the exceptional quality and generosity of my colleagues and students at KU.”

Winnie Dunn serves as chair of the Department of Occupational Therapy Education in the School of Health Professions, in addition to teaching occupational therapy. She joined KU in 1986 and researches people’s responses to sensory experiences in everyday life. She received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees at the University of Missouri, and her doctorate in applied neuroscience at KU.

“Teaching is the ultimate human experience—sharing knowledge and interests in a way that changes both teacher and student to be better than they could have been without each other,” Dunn said.

Paul R. Hanson teaches in the Department of Chemistry and joined KU in 1996. His areas of expertise are organic synthesis with an emphasis on methods development, natural product and analog synthesis, chemical libraries for biological screening and immobilized reagents. He received his bachelor’s degree from Luther College and a doctorate in chemistry from the University of Minnesota.

“I am deeply honored by this wonderful teaching professorship and all the opportunities it offers,” Hanson said. “I thank my mentors, colleagues, staff, students past and present, family and KU Endowment for making this possible.”

Jack Winerock teaches in the School of Music, and joined KU in 1973. His area of expertise is classical piano music. He received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the Juilliard School of Music, and his doctorate from the University of Michigan.

“While student achievement is my greatest satisfaction, I appreciate recognition from colleagues, alumni, and KU Endowment,” Winerock said. “This unique award inspires me to continue seeking even more effective teaching strategies.”

The professorships are funded through KU Endowment, the independent, nonprofit organization serving as the official fundraising and fund-management organization for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment is the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).