KU News Release

November 8, 2012
Contact: Jill Jess, KU News Service, 785-864-8858

Mortar Board to honor outstanding faculty, staff

More Information

LAWRENCE — A University of Kansas honor society will recognize five faculty and staff members as outstanding educators during an upcoming exhibition basketball game.

Each year, the Torch Chapter of Mortar Board, a senior honor society, recognizes five instructors for their dedication to KU and their positive influence on students both academically and personally.

The recipients of the Outstanding Educator award are:

• William Beedles, professor and director of undergraduate programs at KU School of Business

• Victoria Corbin, associate professor of molecular biosciences

• Tammara Durham, vice provost for student affairs

• David McLeod, director of anatomy labs and lecturer in undergraduate biology

• Kala Stroup, honors emeritus faculty and internship adviser for the KU Honors Program. Stroup was a member of the Torch Chapter of Mortar Board at KU in 1958-59.

Brandon Rogers, a senior from Plano, Texas, and Jordan Crawford, a senior from Topeka, both Mortar Board members, served as a co-chairs for the awards.

The educators will be honored at halftime of the KU-Southeast Missouri State basketball game on Friday, Nov. 9.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).