KU News Release


October 24, 2012
Contact: Jackie Hosey, School of Pharmacy, 785-864-1206

Researcher to receive the American Chemical Society’s Midwest Award

Jeff Aube

More Information

LAWRENCE — University Distinguished Professor of Medicinal Chemistry Jeff Aubé has earned the 2012 American Chemical Society’s Midwest Award.

Established in 1944, the ACS Midwest Award recognizes outstanding achievements in chemistry in the Midwest region. The award is given annually to a scientist who has made meritorious contributions to the advancement of pure or applied chemistry, chemical education and the profession of chemistry.

The award citation describes Aubé as someone who is “always at the forefront of chemistry” and “a leader of collaborative research efforts at the University of Kansas and in the Midwest.”

Aubés research focuses on the development of new synthetic techniques, total synthesis and the study of peptidomimetics. In addition, his group collaborates with scientists in related areas of medicinal chemistry and drug delivery. Aubé has won numerous awards throughout his career, including the prestigious Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award earlier this year.

"This is such a great personal honor, and I'm pleased to share it with all of the talented students and colleagues who have contributed to our work over the years,” Aubé said. “It's especially humbling given the quality of other KU awardees over the years."

School of Pharmacy Dean Ken Audus said this award and those that have preceded it are indicative of the respect that Aubé has earned amongst his peers.

“Jeff Aubé continues to do the type of work that draws the attention and admiration of his fellow chemists. I’m sure this award means a great deal to him as it does to all of us at the KU School of Pharmacy,” Audus said. “Jeff is among the elite researchers in his field, and we are very fortunate to have him at the University of Kansas.”

Since it was created in 1944, eight researchers from the University of Kansas have won the ACS Midwest Award, including Takeru Higuchi in 1975. See a complete list of winners online.

Aubé will receive the ACS Midwest Award at the 47th ACS Midwest Regional Meeting in Omaha, Neb., Oct. 24-27.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).