KU News Release

October 25, 2012
Contact: Jennifer Jackson Sanner, KU Alumni Association, 785-864-4760

Ten KU seniors named finalists for 22nd annual Ex.C.E.L. Awards

More Information

LAWRENCE — Ten finalists have been selected for the 22nd annual Excellence in Community, Education and Leadership Awards at the University of Kansas.
The finalists, all seniors, will participate in the Homecoming parade at 6 p.m. Friday, Oct. 26, along Jayhawk Boulevard and be recognized during a private reception later that evening at the Adams Alumni Center.

Two winners, one male and one female, will be announced during halftime of the KU-Texas homecoming football game Saturday, Oct. 27, at Memorial Stadium. Kickoff is 11 a.m.

The Ex.C.E.L. Award provides an annual $500 scholarship to two students. The winners will plan the Blueprints Leadership Conference next spring in conjunction with KU’s Student Involvement and Leadership Center.

Nominees were selected on the basis of leadership, effective communication skills, involvement at KU and in the Lawrence community, academic scholarship and ability to work with a variety of students and organizations. The selection committee included representatives from Student Union Activities, the Board of Class Officers, the Student Involvement and Leadership Center and the Homecoming Steering Committee.

The award was established and first given in 1991 to recognize one male and one female student for achievement and to add student interest to annual Homecoming festivities. 
Names of winners are listed on a plaque on the fifth level of the Kansas Union.

To be eligible, applicants must be full-time undergraduate students with an overall grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. Each finalist completed an application and participated in an interview. The finalists and their academic majors are listed below, along with highlights of their campus achievements.

From Overland Park
Megan Watson, chemistry and English, is a KU 2012 Woman of Distinction and serves as executive director of KU Dance Marathon.

From Shawnee
Zack McQuiston, Spanish and journalism, is vice president of the KU Interfraternity Council and serves as the director of development for Student Senate.

From Independence
Sam Schroeder, chemical engineering, minoring in East Asian languages and culture, is a member of the Student Alumni Leadership Board and vice president of Alpha Tau Omega fraternity.

From Wichita
Bryan Do, exercise science with a minor in leadership studies, is a peer leadership consultant for the Student Involvement and Leadership Center. He works for KU Info and serves as parade co-chair on the Homecoming Steering Committee.

Matt Moore, human biology, serves as president of Phi Gamma Delta fraternity and executive producer of Rock Chalk Revue.

From Topeka
Alexandra “Nicki” Rose, political science with a minor in peace and conflict studies, volunteers for Court Appointed Special Advocates of Shawnee County and serves as the executive director of KU’s Up ’til Dawn, an annual fall event that benefits St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.


From Omaha, Neb.
Nell Neary, economics with a business minor, is president of Chi Omega sorority, serves as a student senator and is the programs co-chair for The Big Event, an annual day of volunteer service in the spring to unite the KU and Lawrence communities.

From Chester, N.J.
Kathryn Hoven, English and history with a minor in classical antiquities, serves as the Panhellenic Association president. As a student in the KU Honors Program, she also is a University Scholar.

From Plano, Texas
Brandon Rogers, human biology, serves as a recruitment co-chair for The Big Event and fundraising coordinator for Rock Chalk Revue advisory board.

From Fairfax Station, Va.
Shannon Collins, political science with minors in public policy and leadership studies, is vice president of administration for Student Union Activities and is a member of the Mortar Board and Pi Sigma Alpha honor societies.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).