KU News Release

September 17, 2012
Contact: Jim Peters, Osher Lifelong Learning Institute, 785-864-9142; Kyle Garcia, KU Continuing Education, 785-864-7857

Media advisory: KU chancellor and Washburn University president to sign lifelong learning agreement

WHAT: The University of Kansas and Washburn University will sign an agreement to offer courses in Topeka through KU’s Osher Lifelong Learning Institute.

WHEN: 9 a.m. Wednesday, Sept. 19

WHERE: Lobby of the Living Learning Center Building on the Washburn campus

WHO: KU Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little, Washburn University President Jerry Farley, KU Continuing Education Executive Director Fred Pawlicki and Dean Tim Peterson, Washburn University Office of Academic Outreach

WHAT IS THE OSHER LIFELONG LEARNING INSTITUTE? Initially funded by a grant from the Bernard Osher Foundation of San Francisco, the KU Osher Lifelong Learning Institute has been offering accessible and innovative learning environments for participants age 50 and over since 2004. Learners from all backgrounds and levels of education enjoy a wide range of innovative and enriching courses in the arts, history, philosophy, culture, health and well-being, and other popular topics.

Osher classes were first offered in Lawrence, but through partnerships with residential communities and academic institutions, it now offers courses throughout the Kansas City/Lawrence/Topeka corridor as well as Manhattan, Hutchinson, Hesston, North Newton, Ottawa and Ulysses, as well as Liberty, Mo. The Institute is part of KU Continuing Education.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).