KU News Release

September 5, 2012
Contact: Joe Monaco, Office of Public Affairs, 785-864-7100

KU names new class of Senior Administrative Fellows

LAWRENCE – Nine University of Kansas faculty members have been named Senior Administrative Fellows for 2012-2013.

The Senior Administrative Fellows program allows select faculty members to learn more about senior administration in higher education by meeting with senior administrators, visiting administrative units across campus, discussing national trends in academia and developing their leadership skills. The program is now in its 20th year and is directed by Mary Lee Hummert, vice provost for faculty development.
The class is selected annually from campuswide nominations.

The new class of fellows:
• Brian Barnes, associate professor and associate dean for academic affairs, School of Pharmacy
• Michael Baskett, associate professor and acting department chair, Film and Media Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
• Henry Bial, associate professor, American studies/theatre , and department chair, American Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
• Christopher Forth, professor, history/humanities & Western civilization, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
• Andrea Herstowski, associate professor and interim chair, design, School of Architecture, Design & Planning
• Ebenezer Obadare, associate professor, sociology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
• Thomas Prisinzano, professor, medicinal chemistry, School of Pharmacy
• Jennifer Roberts, associate professor, geology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
• Melanie Wilson, professor and associate dean, School of Law

Requests for nominations and application instructions for the 2013-2014 Senior Administrative Fellows will be announced in April 2013. All tenured faculty members at KU are eligible to apply.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).